Dr Neil H. Hyman MD

Professor of Surgery Section Chief; Colon and Rectal Surgery – University of Chicago US

Dr Neil Hyman received his BA from the University of Pennsylvania in 1980 and his M.D. from the University of Vermont College of Medicine in 1984.  He completed his surgical residency at the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York, New York, and his colon and rectal fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation in Cleveland, Ohio.

Neil is currently Professor of Surgery, Chief of the Section of Colon and Rectal Surgery and Codirector of the Center for Digestive Diseases at the University of Chicago Medicine.  He has authored over 225 peer-reviewed original articles and textbook chapters.  He serves on many regional and national committees, and is a member of numerous national organizations and societies.  He has been President of the Vermont Chapter of the American College of Surgeons, Associate Editor of Diseases of the Colon and Rectum, and Chaired the ACS Advisory Council for Colon and Rectal Surgery and the Council for Advisory Council Chairs.   He is presently President-elect of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons, Director of the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, serves on the Editorial Board of the Annals of Surgery, as Co-Editor of Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery and as the Co-chair for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation Surgery Research Network.

Neil is the recipient of many teaching awards including Clinical Teacher of the Year, University of Vermont, College of Medicine 1993/94, 1994/95 and 1997/98.  He has received the Jerome S. Abrams Teaching Award in 1992/93, 1993/94 and 1997/98, the Howe Outstanding Surgery Faculty Award 2000/2001, 2004/2005, 2010/2011 and the Humanism in Medicine Award, University of Vermont, College of Medicine 2001/02.  He was designated as Teacher of the Year by the Chief Surgical Residents in 1991, 2007, 2009 and 2014 at UVM, and at the University of Chicago where he received the Robert Baker Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2015, 2016 and 2017. He was also designated as Master Clinician at the Bucksbaum Institute for Clinical Excellence of the University of Chicago.

Neil was selected as Physician of the Year by the Vermont State Medical Society in 2011 and received the Distinguished Academic Achievement Award from the Alumni Association of the University of Vermont College of Medicine in 2014.

register now

Sponsored by the CSSANZ/Medtronic Grant